Project 4 Stage 4 – Review

Standard
  • Did you manage to make space move?

Making space move was a new concept to me.  Using the black squares to focus the eye was a very simple but effective way to demonstrate this and I found that my mood greatly affected the formations I made in a completely subconscious way.  I would like to follow up this idea.

  • What are your thoughts about the drawings you did in Stage 3?

Stage 3 appeared to be all about selecting from a collection of drawings.  I queried this section with my tutor because I was not entirely clear if any drawing work was being asked for here.  I experimented with looking for shapes in Stage 2 and enjoyed using different techniques to find areas of interest in compositions.  I had a go at looking for negative space which I had not done before.

  • Were you able to use your drawings successfully as a basis for further work?  Are there any other things you would like to try?

I am really pleased with the way my design development drawings came out.  I especially like the digital manipulations and there is a lot more I could do on developing repeat patterns using this technique.  I would also like to make more of collage and mixed media drawings.

  • Now that you have a good working method, do you feel confident that you can carry on working in this way independently?

I think I have overcome a big hurdle I had with being confident that my sketch book work was good enough to be a starting point for this kind of development work.  The further I worked through this section the more I realised that I was making useful marks and that, even when an initial drawing seemed to be limited, I was able to use it for a starting point and a surprising amount of development work could be generated from a single sketch.

Leave a Reply

