Project 5 – Stage 1 Reviewing your fabric collection

Standard

I have a huge collection of fabric that I have collected since my teens.  My mother taught textiles or “needlework” during the 1970s and 80s so I was picking up bits from her class room scrap bins.  Then later I started making my own clothes and had plenty over from cutting out the pattern pieces.  Whilst studying textiles the first time around I needed to purchase fabric for printing, dyeing and garment design projects.  Later I made outfits for our children and then costumes for their school plays.  I have laboured over soft furnishings for our home and other people’s.  The piles and bags full of carefully folded and often unused pieces of cloth are like a scrapbook of my journey of making.  Many projects never went further than an initial experiment.  Some pieces have been made up into a garment or cushion and later remade into a new bag or purse and then re-salvaged “just in case”.

In some ways this mass of fabric and fibre is a burden because I feel obliged to save everything, convinced that it will be useful at some point and it has piled up such that my workroom is completely full and will never be a completely calm place to operate.  Of course, taking this course feeds the obsession with all things fabric and I think at this stage of the game I am a hopeless case!

The upside is that I have a massive choice of bits of cloth to experiment with and have pulled out this array for my printing samples:

There is quite a range here.  Pure cottons, silks and natural hessian-type fabrics are vying for space with some poly-cottons and synthetic organzas.  Looking at this photo I think I will need to add some darker colours to the mix.

Because most of my fabrics were stored for a while in our old shed, when the weather was kinder I have had several massive scouring sessions.  I had lots of fun trying to untangle tiny matted scraps with my embroidery scissors but I have kept all the knotted dreadlocks of fibres for further projects.  I have an idea that I can incorporate them into woven samples or spin the bits together like the recently popular sari silk yarns.

One response »

  1. You sound just like my conscience ! I am pleased to see that I am not the only one with a lifetime of fabric. I find it so hard to part with anything textile, wool, silks, beads, fabric. Now I know that I am not going around the bend!!! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

