Project 6 – Stage 2 Developing Ideas – part 1

Standard

Source Image 1

I have been choosing images to develop and have had a doodle with some photographs I took of the wood pile in the yard next to the office where I work.

I began with this sketch of the cut ends of wood and used Paint.net image manipulation software to play further.

This image got transformed in lots of different ways using distortion, colour changes and other filters.  The trouble with using this software is that I get a bit carried away and forget to make notes of which effect I have used for each manipulated image.

On this page I have the original image on the top left.  The same image top right has the colours inverted which makes for an interesting electric blue on black silhouette effect.  Middle left I have used the Distort – dents option and middle right is a variation on this selecting a higher refraction.  Bottom left is the same original image using the Distort – crystallise option and bottom right is that distorted image using the same effect selecting a larger cell size.  It is interesting how this effect already gives the impression of a patchwork design – another possible development pathway.

Next I altered the hue of the original image top left and used the Distort – dents effect, again selecting a high refraction and high scale.  Middle left is Distort – crystallise with a larger cell size again and middle right is a close up on the image immediately above.  Bottom left is another close up section of the top right image with the Artistic – ink sketch effect selected.  Bottom right is another close up of the top right image with the colours inverted.

Using the idea from the “ink sketch” version I played around with a section of the image and changed the hue a few times.  I like the contour line effect this gives.  You could layer fabrics of different colours like this.

Next I tiled another close up section of the Distort – crystallise image and I love the way this looks like a retro tile design.

I cropped an area of the tiled image and played with the contrast – this is with the contrast high.  There are some sinister looking devilish eyes staring out from the top of the image!

Again, this could be developed further using layers of fabrics of similar tones, each cut away to show the one beneath.

I took the cropped image and used the emboss tool on this one.  A wonderful anayglypta wallpaper-type design, I think.

Using another close up section of the tiled image I played around with the Render – clouds effect:

I love the way this gives the idea of a base fabric with a monochrome design which you see through the red patterned top layer.

This one is using the Colour burn blend mode.  Again, layers of colour over monochrome, this time introducing more colours and shapes.

This one uses the Render – clouds blur invert option.

And this one uses the Render – clouds negation mode.

Lastly, this one uses the Render – clouds reflect mode:

Lots of inspiration here, but I had better do some work with some of my other images!

Source Image 2

Another image I used to develop was this photograph of the side of the woodshed:

I started with a quick sketch using the lines produced by the slices of wood layered horizontally over each other and noticed the vertical scoring from the wood saw:

I did some work with this using coloured oil pastels in a variety of colours.

My favourite is the blue and green version.  The left two remind me of a library bookshelf packed full of books.  The bottom right makes me think of radio waves reflecting in water.  I think perhaps these designs might be more suited to embroidery stitching.

Source Image 3

This page from my sketch book started with the small sketch in the top left of the rear lamp array on a New York Yellow Cab.  I spotted this shape whilst watching a chick flick online.  I was able to pause the film and quickly sketch the shape that I found interesting.

This shape developed into a couple of flower shapes, a row of odd bods of a variety of shapes and sizes and a pile of strange paddle shapes.  I scanned the flower design on the left into Paint.net and added colour to the petals.  I then re-sized the motif, rotated them and placed the flowers randomly on a page to get this design:

I wanted to try and change this design and give it a different background but I haven’t yet worked out how to do this using the software I have.

Source Image 4

This was a collage I made early on in the course during Project 1, developing a crayon rubbing of a Bentwood chair.  I had made a background wash of acrylic colour and applied some patterned wallpaper in a sort of rough fleur de lys design.

I like the boldness of the design against the background and initially just copied the outline of the design to see if I could play with the shapes.  But I felt I was just going to reproduce the collage in a different colour and maybe that was not going to be worth my time.

Instead I used the Paint.net software again to manipulate the image.  I re-sized it and repeated it in bands.

This is very effective.  I like the way the brush strokes in the background give a slight texture and make the bands between the flower shapes more defined.

Source Image 5

I love this image for its boldness and it uses some of my preferred theme colours – purple, pink and red.  Again it is floral in nature.  This seems to be another theme running through some of these exercises.

I used the organic flower idea and drew some more shapes in different sizes.

Keeping to the bold pink theme in mind, I copied the pencilled shapes to some magenta paper then I used another copy of these shapes to cut around some wallpaper and stuck that to the background.  The photo doesn’t show it too well but I like the way the pencilled shapes add depth to the design.

In this version I coloured some paper using oil pastel rubbed over a net fruit bag for some gritty looking texture and cut out the flower shapes again.  These were then stuck on to a background of striped wallpaper in three colourways next to each other.

This works well and I can definitely see this as an applique design.

Source Image 6

This was one of my favourite images from the beginning of the course.  I printed my interpretation of the brick path running down our vegetable garden using two sponges with holes cut into the surface, one with more small holes and one with fewer large holes.  The way the paint has varied in intensity on the prints echoes the differences in the colours of the clay of the bricks and the positioning is also very like the way the path is a bit uneven.

I doodled a bit with the shapes and again, I can see how the simple geometric shapes would be an effective applique starting point but I find this original image difficult to work with.  I think it is because I like the prints so much as they are.  This makes it hard to develop as I feel it is already finished.  There are also images here that remind me of dice and dominos and Trivial Pursuit cheeses …

Leave a Reply

