Project 10 A design project – Stage 3 Developing your design – layers

Standard

After further work on my theme of entrance I am at the stage where I keep coming back to the image of my grandparents’ front door and the concept of layers of family memories, rites of passage, and coming of age.

drawing 2

watercolour on cartridge paper

drawing 1

collage – wallpaper, brown paper, tea bags, machine stitching

I have made some drawings to illustrate the theme image but I am still developing my ideas on how to best translate this in to a full-sized piece.  Initially I envisaged a door curtain, or series of layers in a doorway but I am wavering whether to proceed with the design on the full doorway scale or perhaps cut it down to a more manageable window size.  This might make hanging a bit easier too.

I have also done some preliminary plan drawings to show how the layers might work but I need to get hold of some tracing paper or bleached greaseproof paper to develop the concept further and produce a full size cartoon.  I have also done a bit of sampling with some voile fabric to see how simple tucks, folds and layers might look with some light behind.

sample tucks

polyester voile folded and machine stitched

I think I need to do some more drawings, perhaps using more colour, although the neutral palette I seem to have kept to still appeals to me.  Something to do with the nostalgia of sepia photography, old linens and dusty memories.

Leave a Reply

